< link rel="DCTERMS.replaces" href="http://fumare.us/" > < meta name="DC.identifier" content="http://fumare.blogspot.com" > <!-- --><style type="text/css">@import url(https://www.blogger.com/static/v1/v-css/navbar/3334278262-classic.css); div.b-mobile {display:none;} </style> </head> <body><script type="text/javascript"> function setAttributeOnload(object, attribute, val) { if(window.addEventListener) { window.addEventListener('load', function(){ object[attribute] = val; }, false); } else { window.attachEvent('onload', function(){ object[attribute] = val; }); } } </script> <div id="navbar-iframe-container"></div> <script type="text/javascript" src="https://apis.google.com/js/plusone.js"></script> <script type="text/javascript"> gapi.load("gapi.iframes:gapi.iframes.style.bubble", function() { if (gapi.iframes && gapi.iframes.getContext) { gapi.iframes.getContext().openChild({ url: 'https://www.blogger.com/navbar.g?targetBlogID\x3d12407651\x26blogName\x3dFUMARE\x26publishMode\x3dPUBLISH_MODE_BLOGSPOT\x26navbarType\x3dBLACK\x26layoutType\x3dCLASSIC\x26searchRoot\x3dhttp://fumare.blogspot.com/search\x26blogLocale\x3den_US\x26v\x3d2\x26homepageUrl\x3dhttp://fumare.blogspot.com/\x26vt\x3d6298351012122011485', where: document.getElementById("navbar-iframe-container"), id: "navbar-iframe" }); } }); </script>


Law, culture, and Catholicism...up in smoke!

Thursday, August 23, 2007

Majority of Alumni Seek Reinstatement of Safranek, Lyons, and Pucillo

A majority of alumni support the Alumni Board petition seeking the reinstatement of Professors Safranek, Lyons, and Pucillo. You can see the petition here. If you are a past or current member of the Ave Maria Law community (faculty, staff, student, or alumnus) and haven't signed the petition, please consider signing it.
From: Matt Bowman <helpavelaw@gmail.com>
Date: Aug 23, 2007
Subject: Petition from AMSL Alumni Board / Majority of Alumni, Seeking Reinstatement of Professors by Aug 27

Dear Members of the Ave Maria School of Law Board of Governors (past and present):

My name is Matt Bowman, AMSL Class of 2003, and I write to inform you that a majority of alumni have signed a petition imploring you to reinstate Professors Stephen Safranek, Philip Pucillo, and Edward Lyons by the beginning of this semester on Monday August 27, 2007. The petition was passed on August 13, 2007 by the Alumni Association Board of Directors, and was publicized independently as well as by Dean Dobranski that week. This situation has been made urgent by the fact that the professors' ejection was only recently revealed. Nevertheless, consistent with the petition, I request that you respond to the petition and to me personally by Monday, August 27, 2007. I also respectfully request that Dean Dobranski and those of you who receive this communication please forward it to new Board of Governors members the Hon. Patrick J. Conlin, Mrs. Cathy Ruse, and Major General John T. Coyne, for whom I do not have email addresses.

The petition signers, including the majority of alumni and others, constitute over 250 members of the Ave Maria School of Law community that signed in just over a week, and more people are adding their names every day. The petition's text and current signatories are attached below; a continually updated list can be viewed at http://helpavelaw.blogspot.com/ , and people can sign by emailing helpavelaw@gmail.com .

Allow me to call your attention to two facts about the petition signers. First, a majority of alumni as listed in the school directory signed this petition despite the difficulty of getting any group that large to simply respond, much less to agree, on any given issue, and amazingly this occurred via email during August vacations and post-bar exam travel. Second, please observe that two dozen or so petition signers are former students, faculty, and staff that have recently departed from our school.

This petition is a project of the Ave Maria School of Law Alumni Association Board of Directors. As part of that project, I, a member of the Alumni Board, administered the website and the signatures. I hereby verify the authenticity of the signatures. Although the words in this cover letter are mine alone and are not the Alumni Board's, the words of the petition belong to the Alumni Board and to the many distinguished persons who signed. For the good of our law school, I implore you to take the alumni majority and the multitude of petition signers seriously, and to reinstate Professors Safranek, Pucillo, and Lyons without delay. I look forward to your prompt response, and I thank you for your consideration.

Yours truly,

Matt Bowman, AMSL Class of 2003, member of the AMSL Alumni Association Board of Directors.

cc: members of the Alumni Association
ABA Consultants Dan Freehling and Hulett Askew

[petition and signatories redacted]